1992 Daytona 500 Winner

Davey Allison – 1992 Daytona 500 winner

February 16, 1992 the 34th running of the “Great American Race”

Overcast sky’s greeted a huge crowd for the 1992 Daytona 500.  This was the beginning of a year long fan appreciation tour from Richard Petty.  Petty would finish 16th in today’s race.  Sterling Marlin won the pole with a qualifying lap of 192.213 mph and his team mate Bill Elliott who started on the front row outside.  Marlin was up for a 180,000 dollar bonus if he could win this race.  Just after 60 laps the yellow flag came out due to rain.  More like a mist, it didn’t last long and they were back racing again.  1992 Daytona 500 winner…

Video by: Nascar All Out

15 lead changes, 4 cautions and an average speed 160.256 for a total time to run the race at just over 3 hours.  Morgan Shepherd took second place, Geoffrey Bodine was the third place winner, fourth place went to Alan Kulwicki and Dick Trickle rounded out the top five.  After the short rain delay, a crowd of cars gathered at the front of the pack and the big one started.  It took out most of the front runners.  1992 Daytona 500 Winner…

davey Allison 1992 daytona 500 winner

Davie Allison won 19 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in his short 9 year career.  He raced in an impressive 191 races got 66 top fives, 92 top tens and earned the pole position 14 times. Davey would go on to win 4 more races in 1992 for a total of 5 wins as he did in 1991.  The 1992 Daytona 500 win was Davey’s first and only 500 win.  The 1992 Daytona 500 winner…

I am proud to bring you this site, after many years of wondering who won the Daytona 500 in a certain year or how many times did Richard Petty win?  I thought I couldn’t possibly be the only one that has a need for a site like this.  So I made it.  If you found this site useful, please link to us or mention us on your racing related web site or social media.  Thank you very much.

Daytona 500 Winners